“Trust comes by earning it, not expecting it” and Start Making Your Own Decisions — Katie Kavinsky

Cindy Sunshine
2 min readNov 21, 2023

My favorite part of her novels:

““So does love”, I said.

I looked outside the window, counting all the things I wished I could change about my life. But I’m learning it’s human nature to want the things you can’t have. What changes is how you go about pursuing the things you want. When you’re a little kid and you’re told no, you scream and throw a temper tantrum. When you’re a teenager and your parents tell you no, you’re old enough to internalize your temper tantrum. But you’re smarter and you’re sneakier this time around. So you nod and act like you don’t care when they say no,, when they tell you who you can be friends with, when they say they know what’s best.

But then you go behind their backs to do it anyway.

Because at some point, you need to start calling the shots. At some point, you have to start believing you know what’s best. Or, I thought with a smile, you just stop asking for their permission in the first place. “

“This is reality. It’s permanent. Why fight it?”

“Because that’s the point, nothing is ever permanent. We’re just being brainwashed to think there isn’t more out there. Here’s the truth: your situation is never permanent. It’s what you make it. Life isn’t solid, it’s fluid. It changes. You say we’re stuck but that’s a hopeless way to look at it. It’s like saying we should give up.”

--

--

Cindy Sunshine

I’m in love with the idea of LOVE, and does it really exist.