I’m 30 years old. I met a boy playing tennis and I would love to say the rest is history.

Cindy Sunshine
4 min readSep 30, 2024

I fell in love with the sport and he happened to be a tennis player, and so we would drill everyday to get better, for absolutely no reason but pure enjoyment. No tournament, no competition and no pressure. A few months later, he confessed and that changed everything…

I wasn’t sure how I felt about him romantically but I did enjoy hanging out with him, playing tennis and tennis chatting at 1am. I decided to explore my feelings of how I truly felt about him, and so I told him “hey, I’m not sure how I feel about you but maybe we can hang out outside of tennis to see if this would work out.” I haven’t been in a relationship for almost 2 years, and I wanted to give both of us a shot, mainly me — an opportunity to fall in love. I was doing alright alone but I also want a happily ever after ending.

We went on a few dates and he’s super sweet. He does everything right. He opens the doors for me, buys me dinner, gifts me stickers or almost anything I desire. He communicates about his feelings, makes sure I’m happy but I was never sure if I felt secure around him, meaning if he could protect me if things went sour.

Similar to my exes, I felt that he was infatuated in this version of me. I’m not sure what went wrong but I slowly felt an obsession from him. The more I created space between us, the more he was trying to close that gap and that left me barely enough room to breathe. I was obsessed with tennis while he…

--

--

Cindy Sunshine

I’m in love with the idea of LOVE, and does it really exist.